Want to Lose Weight? Just Become a “No Drama Mama!”

Portrait of Eva Tanguay

Portrait of Eva Tanguay, a Vaudeville Diva known for throwing tantrums  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

People keep telling me they’re impressed with how much weight I lost.  A few minutes ago, one just mentioned my “level of willpower.”

Everybody wants to know my “secret.”

Well, guess what?  I don’t have a secret!  All I have is an attitude that’s different from the one that most Americans of the late 20th Century have been conditioned to believe is the norm: I view the world with lots of fun but no drama.  In contrast, most Americans are obsessed with taking the smallest internal mole hills, turning them into mountain ranges, and making a great, big, endless melodrama out of every little minor happenstance.  They are drama kings and queens worthy of a royal court.  If their doctor tells them to cut certain items out of their diets, they react as if they’re about to walk over hot coals, or have to cross the Himalayas wearing flip-flops.  Oh, no – they can’t have a cupcake today?  Heaven forbid!  That’s their cue to start screaming!  It’s almost unbelievable.  Then it gets even wilder and crazier: the laments begin.  Oh, whoa!  Don’t even get me started on that!  Everything becomes a crisis and a trauma.  I grew up hearing a lot of adults carrying on like they’d just been shot over nothing more minor than having to give up a few calories.  As a child, I’d roll my eyes and think how ridiculous they were all being to behave like that.  As an adult, I hold back on doing an eye-roll (well, most of the time, anyway) but I still think they’re being over-the-top in the wrong direction.

Do you want your situation to get better instead of worse?  Fine!  Go for it.  Take the drama out of it.  You know what needs to be done – so do it.  And please, for the sake of your family and friends, take the lamentation out of it.  If you’re whining, trust me: you are driving them all crazy and will push quite a few of them away from you.  Simply cease to consider that having to do something healthy is worse than a jail sentence and just do it!

Don’t tell me it can’t be done, either.  It can.  I did it!

SO CAN YOU!

2 responses to “Want to Lose Weight? Just Become a “No Drama Mama!”

Leave a Reply

