Mama Rose Hovick, William Desmond Taylor and Queen Lili’uokalani of Hawai’i

Mary Miles Minter c.1917

Mary Miles Minter c.1917 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What do Rose Hovick of “Gypsy” fame, 1920’s Hollywood director William Desmond Taylor, and Queen Lili’uokalani of Hawai’i have in common?

Nothing whatsoever, except that they all have intrigued me for decades.

I became interested in Rose Hovick, whose unorthodox parenting style inspired a Broadway musical, when I realized that her two daughters’ books about her life didn’t jibe with one another.  William Desmond Taylor was the enigmatic victim of one of Hollywood’s oldest unsolved murder mysteries, and that case was, as my grandparents used to say, “a doozie.”  No one still knows whodunit, and every person on the suspect list is, to put it bluntly, quite bizarre.  Queen Lili’uokalani was overthrown by an honest-to-goodness conspiracy organization, a case of the “one percent” running amok that took place in the 1890’s.  That story appalled me from the moment I first heard it on a trip to Hawai’i.  I wanted to know more, and when I want to know more, I do research.

My manuscript for Rose’s Turn, the biography I’ve written of stage mother “Mama Rose” Hovick, is all finished and has been sent on its way to my publisher.  I’m still sorting out the photos for it, but the book itself is done.  I’ve also already received the books I’ve ordered on Taylor and the Queen.  Stay tuned, because two more books are already in the works!

Actress Mabel Normand holding a small round mi...

Actress Mabel Normand holding a small round mirror which reflects her face in profile (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Queen Liliuokalani license

Queen Liliuokalani license (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4 responses to “Mama Rose Hovick, William Desmond Taylor and Queen Lili’uokalani of Hawai’i

  1. You the bomb my beautiful friend from New York Carolyn Quinn. That’s going to be a New York and World best seller my friend you just won the $500, 000.000 lottery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

