The Broadway or Hollywood Hit-to-Be: THE UPSTAIRS ROOM by Johanna Reiss

Me with Johanna Reiss at the Great Jazz Age Lawn Party

Me with Johanna Reiss at the Great Jazz Age Lawn Party

I’ve said this before, folks, and I’m saying it again: Broadway and Hollywood are missing something special, and it’s a book called The Upstairs Room by Johanna Reiss.

I don’t know what Broadway and Hollywood are waiting for. I don’t know why they haven’t found this wonderful book yet, or why it hasn’t been made into a blockbuster of a movie or stage play already. I first read it when I was about twelve, and it won awards then. The story concerns two Jewish sisters, Sini and Annie, who had to hide from the Nazis with two wonderful Gentile families. The families are fabulous, but the situation the girls found themselves in, through no fault of their own, is terrifying: at one point, Nazis are even quartered in the same tiny house where they’re hiding…

I found the author, Johanna Reiss – the Annie of the story – online a few months ago. We got together and have been great friends ever since; within five minutes I felt like I’d known her my whole life, and what a saga she has to tell! Here we are at the Great Jazz Age Lawn Party yesterday. Broadway or Hollywood: contact me, darlings – let’s put this hit-to-be in motion! There’s a whole gigantic audience out there just waiting to see a story as uplifting as this.

Here’s the link for Johanna’s book. Give it a read and you’ll see for yourself all of the reasons why I’m advocating for this to become a production:

http://www.amazon.com/Upstairs-Room-Trophy-Newbery-Paperback/dp/B0033XKSLC/ref=sr_sp-atf_title_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371428337&sr=1-1

Leave a Reply

