Another Idea for First-Time Authors

signing-5-1385603_10151964421977378_639237984_n

Richard Skipper and Me at my first Book Signing

Lots of people have been asking me for advice on getting their books published.  Naturally, first and foremost, the best advice I can give is keep at it, be willing to put in a lot of hard work, and don’t give up, but in addition to that, here’s a fun little idea for positive motivational purposes.

Back when I was still doing research for my book on Rose Hovick, I saw it: a pearl necklace choker necklace with a silver rose in the center.  It was my kind of a necklace, evocative of my favorite vintage era, circa 1920.  It also had that nice silver rose, which was my research subject’s first name – and her daughter’s, and her aunt’s, and her great-grandmother’s, too.  It was beyond my price range, but so pretty, and so appropriate to my project, I thought.  I could see myself wearing it at the first book signing, and this was all the way back when I still hadn’t completed my manuscript yet.

Well, what could I do?  I had to get it – and did.

From that point on, I wore it whenever there was anything going on with regard to my book.  Whenever I met up with another researcher of the same family, I wore it.  When I visited people who had known Rose, it came with me.  It went around the country with me several times, that necklace.  I intended all along to wear it when the book came out, whenever there was a Rose event.

Take a look at the photos.  It happened!

I’d like to suggest that anyone writing a book go out and treat themselves to a nice relevant item.  Keep it where you can see it every day as a reminder of your project.  Let it remind you of how far you’ve come and how far you have yet to go.  When the book gets published and you start going on your book signings, wear it if it’s wearable, or just take it along with you.

 

Seabrook, Washington Book Signing Event - Me with Eileen Owens, who knew Rose Hovick's sister Belle.

Seabrook, Washington Book Signing Event – Me with Eileen Owens, who knew Rose Hovick’s sister Belle.

 

greenroom1978726_10152691821964062_1622969523_n

With Susan Haskins after filming THEATER TALK

Leave a Reply

