Imperial Court of New York: Night of a Thousand Gowns 2014

There is a flip side to having once been bullied as a little girl.  Bullies, as we all know, are inherent cowards who are terrified that something about them is wrong, abnormal, different or deficient, so they take this out on the world by projecting it onto any target they can find.  A lot of the time, they zero in on another child’s clothing.

As a result, at a new Catholic school many moons ago, I remember being viciously targeted because my mother insisted I have blue shoes to match my blue uniform.  In fact, to this day, which happens to be 41 years later, if you can believe this, I hear there’s a few grown men and women from that awful school who still make cracks about me and my “choice of blue shoes,” which wasn’t even mine at all.  Can you imagine having such a stultifying life that the color of my footwear back in 1973 is still their idea of a scandal?  The joke in my family remains that quite a few of them ought to hope my next book isn’t a memoir.

Anyway, on to the positive flip side of all that!  The flip side is that I’ve never had a problem with anyone else’s choice of clothing or styles from that day forward.  My best friend in college was even a punk rocker.  I wasn’t, but I didn’t care if my friends were.  To each his own!  Go for it!  Wear what you love since you’re the one who’s wearing it!

Which brings me to the incredibly fabulous event I attended last weekend: Night of a Thousand Gowns 2014.  I have friens in this organization and honey, I love glitz, so you can be sure I help out at this event every year!  It’s the most enchanting costume ball imaginable, with members of the Imperial Court of New York dressing in what they love: ball gowns, imperial costumes and lots and lots of crowns and tiaras.  Jeweled crowns and tiaras, that is.  I always feel like I’m back in Victorian England or perhaps Tsarist Russia whenever this event takes place.  There’s something magical about the time-warp aspect of it.  Take a look.  You’ll see what I mean.  Next year you might even consider buying a ticket to the festivities, too.  Oh, and if you’re “afraid” your outfit might make you “different”?  Well, what’s wrong with that?  This group  is having a ball, literally, and you can, too!

 

ct-1-

A Prince!

Royalty!

Royalty!

More royalty!

More royalty!

Me with the Court's Elian Encounter - Elian Bensoussan!  He's the friend who got me involved as a volunteer.  Bravo!

Me with the Court’s Elian Encounter – Elian Bensoussan! He’s the friend who got me involved as a volunteer. Bravo!

Me in my official volunteer T-shirt (which said "EPIC" on the back), my fellow volunteer Chip White, and the one and only entertainer Sybil Bruncheon!

Me in my official volunteer T-shirt (which said “EPIC” on the back), my fellow volunteer Chip White, and the one and only entertainer Sybil Bruncheon!

A Royal Family!

A Royal Family!

Meeting up with my Facebook friend Patty Florence Nightingale.

Meeting up with my Facebook friend Patty Florence Nightingale.

The supporters of the soon-to-be-crowned Empress, Twinkle Montgomery, await their Coronation Procession.

The supporters of the soon-to-be-crowned Empress, Twinkle Montgomery, await their Coronation Procession.

Twinkle Montgomery awaits her entrnace.

Twinkle Montgomery awaits her entrnace.

The Coronation!

The Coronation!

Twinkle Montgomery and Tony Monteleone, The Imperial Court of New  York's new Empress and Emperor.

Twinkle Montgomery and Tony Monteleone, The Imperial Court of New York’s new Empress and Emperor.

2 responses to “Imperial Court of New York: Night of a Thousand Gowns 2014

  1. What a fantastic event. I would love to see in LIVE. As for being ostracized for living outside the ‘cookie cutter’ …all great minds come from that space. Our side is more fun anyway.

    Like

    • Those who need to ostracize other people only make total fools of themselves. I think of those who did that as – well, I’ll call it “the antithesis of classy” here, but that’s not the colorful phrase I usually use to describe ’em!

      Like

Leave a Reply

