If You Love Unsolved Mysteries, Read SOUL SURVIVOR

SOUL SURVIVOR: Was the child on the left once the soldier on the right?

SOUL SURVIVOR: Was the child on the left once the soldier on the right?

I had an ulterior motive when I waltzed into the New Age section of the book store the other night.  I have a friend who is grieving for some lost family members and wondered if, perhaps, a book like Betty J. Eadie’s Embraced By The Light, a story of a near-death experience, might make a nice gift under the circumstances.

The trouble, in this instance, with buying Embraced By The Light, which is a beautiful book by a lovely author whose talks I’ve attended, is that the friend in question is a diehard atheist – but hey, that’s another story.

I wound up buying a reincarnation book for myself: Soul Survivor by Bruce and Andrea Leininger and Ken Gross.  I had seen this book before and it intrigued me.  Any unsolved mystery intrigues me and I particularly like the spiritual ones.

Soul Survivor tells the story of an All-American family from Louisiana whose child began to have violent, terrifying nightmares of being a man trapped in a plane crash during World War II.  The little boy, James, at the ripe old ages of two and three, gave his mother and father very specific details about the crash: his plane was a Corsair; it took off from a boat called the Natoma; the crash took place during the Battle of Iwo Jima; and the pilot who died was – James!  Furthermore, the child insisted his name had been James at the time this happened, too.  He did not know his “old” last name but he also recalled the full name of a friend: Jack Larsen.

His mother, Andrea, believed their boy was experiencing a past life, but father Bruce was totally skeptical of the story.  He was also a Christian who did not wish to believe it could possibly be true.  On the other hand, their little James was screaming in his sleep every night as he dreamt of the plane crash, over and over, and drew pictures of it, too.  He said he’d been shot down by “the Japanese.”  While awake, the toddler also had all kinds of details about Corsairs, other planes, and even knew what to do to inspect one, pre-flight!

Bruce began to research the details the boy was giving his parents.  To his astonishment, he discovered there was a Navy ship, the Natoma Bay, from which planes took off in the Pacific Ocean during the Battle of Iwo Jima, and more!  A whole lot more.  Like Jack Larsen, who was alive and well, and the fact that there had been a Natoma Bay pilot named James M. Huston who had been killed in World War II – during guess what battle?

Was James the reincarnation of a downed pilot who fought valiantly for our country?  Read the delightful book by Bruce and Andrea Leininger and Ken Gross and let’s see what conclusion you reach!

Here’s the Leininger family telling their story.  Enjoy!

Advertisements

One response to “If You Love Unsolved Mysteries, Read SOUL SURVIVOR

  1. I watched a documentary on the story. It was amazing AND wonderful confirmation for those of us who believe in re-incarnation. BTW, buying books as gifts that help others find their answers is both an act of kindness and wisdom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s