Hey, Look Him Over! Jim Speake Sings Cy Coleman

Jim Speake, Star of "I'm a Brass Band: Jim Speake Sings Cy Coleman"

Jim Speake, Star of “I’m a Brass Band: Jim Speake Sings Cy Coleman”

It’s been quite a weekend for me in terms of events!  Yesterday I attended the screening of “The Hawaiian Room” and today I went to see I’m A Brass Band: Jim Speake Sings Cy Coleman at the cabaret at the Duplex.

I love Cy Coleman songs for their positive outlook, and the Broadway composer had quite a hit list.  Barnum, Sweet Charity, The Life, The Will Rogers Follies, and I Love My Wife, to name a few.  Jim Speake clearly loves the man’s work, too, and put one terrific Coleman song over after another.

A medley of “Hey, Look Me Over” and “Hey There, Good Times” opened the show, both fun, rousing numbers, and the fun continued from there. “Witchcraft,” “Never Met a Man I Didn’t Like,” “Thank God I’m Old,” the title number, “I’m A Brass Band,” and “Come Follow the Band,” and especially, “It’s Not Where You Start, It’s Where You Finish” were all Mr. Coleman’s work, too, and Jim Speake had the audience smiling, toe-tapping and thoroughly enjoying ourselves.

I hope this show is seen in a lot of additional venues because Jim Speake is a terrific showman and the numbers are wonderful.

BRAVO!

Leave a Reply

