Stores, Stop Rushing the Seasons!

My street tonight after the latest snowstorm.

My street tonight after the latest snowstorm.

It has been a record-breaking cold New York City winter.

I know this blog is called Splendiferous Everything, but let me tell you, it’s a little tough to try and put a nice positive spin on a winter like this.  It’s been too long, too cold, too snowy, and too relentless.

I started wearing my snow boots in December and have been in them, daily, since January.

Yesterday, one of them fell apart.  Both of them wound up in the trash can.  This was probably inevitable, since those boots weren’t meant to be worn for so many months.

I have a spare pair that I never wear and can’t remember where they came from.  They were probably given to me by someone as a present.  They’re too big, and get this: the tops of them are made of black knitted material.  Now, try as I might, I cannot see the wisdom of this.  Knitted material, used to make snow boots?  Hello?  What’s wrong with this picture?  I can wear them for one day, though, I thought this morning – and then I can pick up some new boots tonight at one of the stores near work.

You’d think I could pick up some new boots at the store, wouldn’t you?  Ha!  Try it!  Payless Shoes was clear out of boots.  My next target was a Target.  They were also out of boots.  DSW had a few rather okay pairs of boots left, if not the kind I really wanted – but when I tried some of those on, I found they were created for taller women.  The tops of the boots were so high I couldn’t even take get them on me, let alone take little steps around the shoe mirror in the store or buy the things.

All three shoe departments may not have had boots, but they were loaded with springtime shoes that no one can even think about wearing yet, sandals and flip-flops.  It’s one of the coldest winters on record, but they can’t keep selling snow boots – and it’s only early March?  To me, this means their official buyers must be chock full of nuts!  It’s wild and crazy enough that so many stores put up their Christmas and Hanukkah displays before Halloween, but it certainly shouldn’t be this hard for a gal to get some boots.  Winter sure isn’t over.  Take a look at the photo on here.  That’s my street.  All day we’ve been having snow – more snow.  It’s the kind of snow that flies sideways, right into your eyes, practically a blizzard condition.

I want new boots.

Payless, Target and DSW: this town of ours is Brooklyn, not Honolulu!  Why are you selling flip-flops here in March?

2 responses to “Stores, Stop Rushing the Seasons!

  1. God, I so agree Carolyn. I am starting to see Christmas in September now in some of our stores. Halloween is over by the end of September (little or no merchandise left out); to make room for Christmas decor, and now no coats, no boots, no anything to do with Winter. We are in the midst of God awful cold and freezing weather, and all I see are bathing suits. Lord have mercy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

