Is This the Sign that Inspired The Book?

This may be the very sign that inspired my book, MAMA ROSE'S TURN.

This may be the very sign that inspired my book, MAMA ROSE’S TURN.

I was very happy to find this photo of the Winter Garden Theater in 1974 today online.

It’s not the clearest of photos in terms of the lettering on the sign, so I can’t be sure if it’s the one I saw, outside of the theater, the day I first saw the musical GYPSY.  I seem to recall it was up on a billboard, higher above the street.  This one is on the theater itself.

But if one of the things written on that sign is the words “A Musical Fable,” well, that was the line that put me on the road to writing MAMA ROSE’S TURN later.  I wanted to find out what the difference was between the real story of Gypsy Rose Lee’s family and the fable I’d just seen on the stage.

It must be on there somewhere because GYPSY couldn’t be advertised without it.

If anyone out there in cyberspace has photos of this show’s time at the Winter Garden, I’d so love to see them!

Leave a Reply

